PhD and MS positions in Ecosystem Ecology are available in the Center for Ecosystem Science and Society (Ecoss) at Northern Arizona University.

The Ecoss mission is to conduct high-impact, innovative research on ecosystems and how they respond to and shape environmental change, to train next-gen scientists, and to communicate discovery and its relevance to people.

Graduate student benefits include stipend (TA or RA), tuition waiver, and health insurance.

Candidates should explore the Ecoss website and contact the professor whose interests align most closely.
Program applications should be submitted to the Department of Biological Sciences, due January 15, 2021, after communicating with an Ecoss faculty member. Applications submitted earlier may be considered for a prestigious NAU Presidential Fellowship. Please include a cover letter describing your background, research interests, and qualifications, as well as a current resume or curriculum vitae.

Research Opportunities:

The impact of climate change on Alaskan ecosystems, including effects of changing fire and permafrost on plants, soils, and ecosystem services. Michelle Mack & Ted Schuur (michelle.mack@nau.edu, ted.schuur@nau.edu)

How microorganisms regulate biogeochemical responses of ecosystems to environmental change, using tools in quantitative ecology and molecular biology (next-gen sequencing, qPCR, and quantitative stable isotope probing). Bruce Hungate, Paul Dijkstra, Ben Koch, & Egbert Schwartz (bruce.hungate@nau.edu, paul.dijkstra@nau.edu, ben.koch@nau.edu, egbert.schwartz@nau.edu)

Freshwater ecology, including the science of river restoration and dam removal, terrestrial aquatic interactions and food web ecology. Jane Marks & Ben Koch (jane.marks@nau.edu, ben.koch@nau.edu)

Plant and microbial ecophysiology exploring the interaction of water and carbon metabolism in diverse systems, from the world’s tallest trees to soil microorganisms. George Koch (george.koch@nau.edu)

Data-driven modeling and forecasting to understand carbon and nitrogen cycle response to global change at ecosystem, regional, and global scales. Yiqi Luo & Deborah Huntzinger (yiqi.luo@nau.edu, deborah.huntzinger@nau.edu)

Terrestrial ecosystems and global change: above and below ground processes, plant carbon allocation, biosphere-atmosphere interactions and feedbacks, radiocarbon, and phenology. Mariah Carbone & Andrew Richardson (mariah.carbone@nau.edu, andrew.richardson@nau.edu)

Plant -soil interactions in the context of restoration, invasions, and climate change; soil nutrient dynamics and mycorrhizal communities are a few specific foci. Karen Haubensak (karen.haubensak@nau.edu)

Functional diversity of plant communities, including community assembly processes and impacts of diversity on ecosystem structure and function, primarily in dryland biomes. Brad Butterfield (bradley.butterfield@nau.edu)